The Elements of Philosophy: De Cive

Hackett, 1991 (Bernard Gert, ed. -- contains De Cive and selections of De Homine)

The Elements of Philosophy is composed of three parts, not published in their intended order.

De Cive, published in 1642, was Hobbes’s first definitive articulation of his political philosophy. It includes Hobbes’s account of the state of nature and the origin of society in a contract, his analysis of the rights of the sovereign, the various forms sovereignty may take, and the dissolution of sovereignty in civil war. The last several chapters attempt to show that Christian teaching supports Hobbes’s understanding of government. The edition edited by Bernard Gert includes the whole of De Cive.